Skip to main content

Horizon 2020 Technology Success Stories Monday 18 November 2019

The event Horizon 2020 Technology success stories event highlights projects achieving remarkable impact on raw materials exploration, extraction or processing. The aim of this event goes beyond informing about the progress of the selected projects - the objective is to underline how activities in the area of raw materials will benefit from project developments, or in broader terms how industry and society benefit from EU research funding.

Registration and welcome coffee

Welcome and opening remarks

Ms Malwina Nowakowska-Ketterle, Deputy Head of Unit, Resource Efficiency and Raw Materials, DG GROW, EC

Mr Arnoldas Milukas, Head of Unit, Horizon 2020 Environment and Resources, EASME, EC

Session I: Raw materials exploration – Chaired by Ms Véronique Woule-Ebongue, Project Adviser, Horizon 2020 Environment and Resources, EASME, EC

HiTech AlkCarb – Mr Klaus Brauch, Managing Director of Terratec Geophysical Services (DE) and Mr Will Dawes, Executive Director of Lancaster Exploration (VI)

SOLSA – Ms Monique Le Guen, Executive Expert in Geology and Mining at Eramet Ideas (FR)

Networking coffee break

Session II: Raw materials extraction – Chaired by Mr Marko Cacanoski, Project Adviser, Horizon 2020 Environment and Resources, EASME, EC

UNEXMIN – Mr Norbert Zajzon, Head of the Department of Mineralogy and Petrology at the University of Miskolc (HU)

X-Mine – Mr Kevin Rebenius, Managing Director of Orexplore Ab (SE)

SLIM – Mr Andreas Gaich, Managing Director of 3GSM GmbH (AT) and Mr Rafael Navarro, Senior Geologist, Minera de Órgiva (ES)

ITERAMS – Mr Kari Heiskanen, Technical Director of Outotec (FI)

IMPACT – Ms Kathryn Moore, Senior Lecturer, Camborne School of Mines, University Exeter (UK) and Mr Dominic Roberts, Operations Director of Mineco (UK)


Buffet networking lunch


Session III: ERA-MIN 2 – Chaired by Ms Dina Carrilho, Science Officer, Department of International Relations of the Portuguese national Funding Agency for science, research and technology (FCT)

Overview ERA-MIN 2 – Ms Dina Carrilho, ERA-MIN 2 coordinator (PT)

AMTEG – Mr Jens Kobow, Supracon AG (DE)

REWO-SORT – Mr Stefan Gerth, Group Manager Innovative System Design at the Development Center X-ray Technology EZRT, Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS (DE)

MONAMIX – Mr Radu-Robert Piticescu, Innovation Manager, National R&D Institute for Nonferrous and Rare Metals (RO)

BASH-TREAT – Mr Marco Abis, Researcher at Hamburg University of Technology (DE)

MaXycle – Mr Benjamin Podmiljsak, Scientist, Jozef Stefan Institute (SI)

MetRecycle – Ms Aleksandra Lobnik, Full professor at the University of Maribor and Chief Executive Officer of Institute for Environmental Protection and Sensors (IOS) Ltd (SI)

BIOMIMIC – Ms Karin Willquist, Senior Researcher at Research Institutes of Sweden (SE)

SUPERMET – Mr Patrick Lacroix-Desmazes, Team Leader Engineering Macromolecular Architectures (IAM) at the Institute Charles Gerhardt, Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Chimie de Montpellier (FR)

EXTRAVAN – Mr Guozhu Ye, Principal Metallurgist at Swerea MEFOS (SE)


Coffee break


Session IV: Raw materials processing and recovery – Chaired by Mr Catalin Perianu, Project Adviser, Horizon 2020 Environment and Resources, EASME, EC

SCALE – Mr Efthymios Balomenos, Metallurgical Engineer, Residue Valorisation at Mytilineos S.A. (EL)

CHROMIC – Ms Liesbeth Horckmans, Team Leader Waste Recycling Technologies at VITO (BE)

Metgrow Plus – Ms Päivi Kinnunen, Research Team Leader, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Ltd (FI)

FAME – Mr Chris Broadbent, Research Director, Wardell Armstrong LLP (UK)

Wrap-up and closing remarks by Mr Marcin Sadowski, Head of Sector Raw Materials, Horizon 2020 Environment and Resources, EASME, EC


Networking cocktail

Detected timezone